## Press Releases

## VISITOR'S AWARDS FOR 'BEST UNIVERSITY', 'INNOVATION' AND 'RESEARCH' PRESENTED BY THE PRESIDENT OF INDIA AT RASHTRAPATI BHAVAN

Rashtrapati Bhavan: 05.02.2015

The President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee presented Visitor's Awards for Central Universities in the categories of 'Best University', 'Innovation' and 'Research' for the year 2015 at a function held at Rashtrapati Bhavan yesterday (February 4, 2015).

The University of Hyderabad received 'Best University' Award for academic excellence & overall outstanding work. 'Innovation' Award was presented to Prof. Vijay K. Chaudhary and Dr. Amita Gupta of University of Delhi for their invention of 'TB Confirm', a rapid diagnostic test for Tuberculosis. The 'Research' Award was received by Cosmology and Astrophysics Research Group, Centre for Theoretical Physics, Jamia Millia Islamia for path breaking research carried out in the field of Astrophysics and Cosmology. The Research Group comprises of Jamia Millia Islamia faculty - Prof. M. Sami, Prof. Sushant G. Ghosh, Prof. Sanjay Jhingan & Prof. Anjan Ananda Sen.

The 'Best University' received a Citation and Trophy while winners of Visitor's Award for 'Innovation' and 'Research' received a Citation and cash award of Rs. one lakh.

The President had announced institution of these awards at the Vice Chancellors' Conference last year with the aim of promoting healthy competition amongst Central Universities and motivating them to adopt best practices from across the world.

This release issued at 1050 hrs.

Copyright © 2014 The President of India.